Member Login  | Contact Us  | Site Map     



Society of Wood Science and Technology

1999 Annual Meeting
June 27, 1999
Boise, Idaho


The 1999 SWST Annual Meeting took place on Sunday, June 27, 1999 in Boise, Idaho, at the Grove Hotel And Boise Convention Center. The technical session, titled "Roles of Wood Science and Technology in Forest Sustainability", was held from 8:00 am to 10:45 am, in the Salmon River and Snake River Rooms at the Boise Convention Center. Click here to view the Program.

The Proceedings is available from the Executive Office, SWST, P.O. Box 6155, Monona, WI 53716-6155, for $10.00

An Awards Presentation took place from 10:45 am to 11:45 am. Awards which were presented included:

  1. Distinguished Service Award - Richard J. Thomas

  2. George G. Marra Award for Excellence in Writing

    • 1st Place: Paul Cooper
      "Diffusion of copper in wood cell walls following vacuum treatment," Volume 30(4)

    • 2nd Place : Peter W. Lau and J. Dave Barrett,
      "Modeling the reliability of wood tension members exposed to elevated temperatures", Volume 30(3)

    • Honorable Mention: Yi-ru Chen, Elmer Schmidt, and Kurt Olson
      "Effect of compression of green wood chips on conidial germination and colonization of a biopulping fungus, phanerochaete", Volume 30(1)

  3. Student Poster Competition - Certificates of Participation to all participants

    • Alexander J. Salenikovich (1st place winner - $250), "Effect of edge distance of nails on performance of sheathing/framing connections"

    • Fatima Moore Shmulsky (2nd place winner - $125), "Efficiency of bio-filters inoculated with various microorganisms in removal of Alpha-Pinene"

    • Balazs Zombori

    • Robert A. Paradise

    • Jong-Bum Ra

    • Kofi Poku

    • Sang Yeob Lee

    • E. R. Traicov Savage

    • Elena V. Kultikova

    • Elif Semen

    • Charles Clement

    • Anastasia Andol

    • Mary Love Mortimer

    • Hui Wan

    • Steven Janzen

    • David E. Headley

    • Michael J. Malmberg

    • Mansur Ahmad

    • Jayson VanLandeghem

  4. International Visiting Scientist - K. Frimpong-Mensah, University of Science and Technology, Ghana going to United Kingdom.

The Annual Business Meeting ran from 11:45 am to 12:45 pm (along with a box lunch).

Click here to see the minutes from the meeting.

Last updated: 3/9/01
For further information, please contact Vicki Herian at



Home  | About Us  | Contact Us  | Site Map      ©2007 SWST