For Students: Travel Grants

The Society of Wood Science and Technology (SWST) is pleased to announce a Student Travel Grant Program to provide partial support for travel expenses to attend the 2015 SWST International Convention.  Students selected for support under this grant program will be expected to present a research poster at the Convention. 

Each grant will consist of an award up to $500 with up to ten grants to be awarded.

Application procedure

Any full-time student (undergraduate or graduate) enrolled in a University degree program in forest products, wood science, or closely related field may apply.  Applicants must be Student Members of the Society of Wood Science and Technology upon application and receipt of the grant.  Non-members may apply by submitting a membership application and dues at the time of application. 

Each application will consist of a completed SWST Student Travel Grant Application Form (PDF) and an abstract of 250 words or less describing the research topic to be presented at the Annual Convention.  Abstracts will be evaluated for research hypothesis, scientific merit, organization and clarity of expression.  Applications will be reviewed by the SWST Visiting Scientist Committee, with recommendations for funding made to the Executive Board of the Society.

Student posters may also be entered into SWST's annual Student Poster Competition for an opportunity to win an additional $125, $250, or $500.  Note that the Student Poster Competition is distinct from the Student Travel Grants program. See SWST Student Poster Guidelines for details. 


Applications for Student Travel Grants must be received by the SWST Office in Madison by 5 p.m. Central Daylight time November 15, 2014. Applications will be reviewed by December 15, 2014, with recommendation to the Executive Board by January 15, 2015.   It is anticipated that grant awards will be announced January 15, 2015.

Grants will be made on a cost-reimbursement basis following the Annual Conference.  Awardees of Student Travel Grants will receive funds upon submission of travel expense receipts to Executive Director, Victoria Herian, at the conference.