Travel Passport and Visa: SWST 2014 Convention

Travel: Passport and Visa

Passport: A passport is required for travel to Slovakia. 

Visa: People residing in the European Union may travel to other countries of the EU without a visa. Identity card or passport is sufficient.

Schengen refers to a group of European Union member states which have abolished passport controls on their internal borders and strengthened controls at their external boundaries. People may freely travel around this area without any border checks at internal borders of Schengen Member States.

Members of the Schengen area

No visa needed

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Swiss Confederation

For citizens of the following countries, no visa is required for access to the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days. After entering the Schengen Zone the visitor is allowed to travel all over the Schengen countries without any other visa or passport control but must be able to prove his or her visa status on request.

Non-EU countries

No visa needed up to 90 days

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macao, Macedonia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherland Antilles, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Salvador, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles Islands, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, United States of America, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela

Foreign nationals who are subject to visa requirement and want to enter the Schengen area, with Slovakia being their target destination, must file a visa application. The citizens of the following countries need a visa to travel to Slovakia:

Visa required

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (North), Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Midway Islands, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Helena and Dependencies, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tomé and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Western Samoa, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Foreign nationals who want to visit the Schengen area and are subject to visa requirement need to file a visa application. There are three types of Schengen Visa:

Read more about conditions for granting of a visa on the official Ministry of Foreign Affairs website:

For your Embassy, see