Past Recipients

International Professional Visiting Scientist Awards

The Society of Wood Science and Technology (SWST) is providing international travel grants for the professional growth of two members each calendar year. These grants are to enhance the members’ international perspective and networking with scientists, technologists, and engineers from other countries that are so vital to the success of SWST in the future. Successful candidates are also to bring colleagues from their home country into the networks they establish.


Year  Recipient Country Visited
1992 Fred Kamke Austria
1992 Doug Stokke Asia
1993 Michael Hoag United Kingdom,
1994 Stephen Shaler Mainland China
1997 Elvin T. Choong China
1997 John Wang China
1998 John N. Saddler New Zealand,
1999 K. Frimpong-Mensha United Kingdom
2001 Earl Kline Sweden
2004 Lech Muszynski Sweden
2009 Barbara Lachenbruch French Guiana
2010 Jae-Woo Kim Austria
2012 Lech Muszynski Austria
2013 Stephen Tekpetey USA
2016 H. Michael Barnes and Jilei Zhang USA and China