The LSU Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries Alumni Association honored three of its distinguee alumni at its recent annual meeting on April 25 at LSU.  This year’s inductees to the LSU Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries Alumni Association Hall of Fame are Drs. H. Michael Barnes, James P. Barnett, and the late Robert Chabreck.

Dr. H. Michael “Mike” Barnes is internationally recognized as a leading expert in the field of wood preservation and durability.  He received a BS in Forestry from LSU in 1965 and a MS in Forest Products Technology from LSU in 1968 under the guidance of the late Dr. Elvin Choong.  He was awarded in PhD in Wood Products Engineering in 1973 from State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry.  He has been on the faculty at Mississippi State University since 1971 and was awarded the title of W. S. Thompson Distinguished Professorship in Wood Science & Technology in 2007.  He has served as President of both of the two largest forest products organizations in North America – Forest Products Society (FPS) and Society of Wood Science and Technology (SWST) and currently serves as editor of Wood & Fiber Science for SWST.  Mike has been elected as a Fellow in SWST, International Academy of Wood Science, and Institute of Wood Science.  He has received the highest award from the following societies: Distinguished Service Award, Society of Wood Science & Technology, 2010; Gottschalk Award, Forest Products Society, 2002; Award of Merit, American Wood Protection Association, 2004; and Award of Merit, Railway Tie Association, 2006.  Moreover, he received Distinguished Service Award from FPS in 2008; and Alumnus of the Year from the LSU School of Renewable Natural Resources in 2004.  In 2005 he received the Mississippi State University Office of Research’s highest award, the Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Award.  Mike is well recognized internationally for his research in wood deterioration & preservation.  He has published over 200 articles, given over 330 presentations in 15 countries, and garnered extramural funding over $10 million.  He has also authored three patents.  Mike has a passion for service and for youth and that is evidenced by his many awards in this area including the Boy Scouts of America: Silver Beaver, District Award of Merit, Scoutmaster Award of Merit, Key to the city of Starkville for outstanding service to youth, and Exchange Club Book of Golden Deeds award.


— left to right, Dr. Todd Shupe, Executive Secretary of the LSU Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries Alumni Association and Dr. H. Michael Barnes.

Photos provided by LSU LSU Forestry, Wildlife, and Fisheries Alumni Association.